Did you have such a thing that you saw a new message but did not open it just because the sender would know that you had read it? For some reason now it's considered that if you've looked through the message and didn't reply in 30 seconds, it's a direct insult and you have to call and specify what kind of nonsense.
Unfortunately, you can't explain to all people what's been viewed - it doesn't mean it's been read, it's been read - it doesn't mean it's been read, it doesn't mean it's been accepted for execution, it doesn't mean it's already been abandoned and that's what I'm doing right now.
On the other hand, very often for fear of "if I look, he will see it and think that ..." we often postpone reading the message and sometimes it is too late. Not only that, knowing that the sender will know that you have read the message triggers a time counter in your head that encourages you to reply as soon as possible, but as soon as possible is not always the best solution.
Solution: Disable reading reports. In WhatsApp/Viber, this is in the settings (privacy/confidentiality), but not in the cart (yet), although you can hide the time when you were online.